Armatree's Martin Murray is the Young Farmer deputy chair

Leader: Agronomist Martin Murray (right), from Armatree, pictured with Young Farmers Council Member Hannah Cargill. Photo: Supplied
Leader: Agronomist Martin Murray (right), from Armatree, pictured with Young Farmers Council Member Hannah Cargill. Photo: Supplied

Armatree's Martin Murray has become a voice for young people in agriculture after taking on the role of the NSW Farmers Young Farmer deputy chair.

Mr Murray is an agronomist based in Armatree with agri-business AMPS and has always had a lifelong interest in agriculture.

"And being a young person in agriculture I feel it's important to have some sort of a voice, and a say to try and drive change for issues that affect young people in ag," he said.

Some issues Mr Murray will be working on in his new role includes access to farm finance and trying to get more young people on the land.

The deputy chair said Queensland and Victoria both have stamp duty exemptions, similar to NSW's first home buyer grant, but currently young farmers don't have that with purchasing a farm.

Another thing he would like to see implemented was a low interest loan scheme for young farmers.

Mr Murray grew up on a rice and sheep property in Carrathool and as a boy moved with his family to Moree. After finishing University, Mr Murray got a job with AMPS and moved to the central west about 12 months ago.

"When they asked if I'd like to come out here it was a no-brainer, I just said yes right away" he said.

Recently Mr Murray caught up with the other Young Farmer committee at their AGM, which includes the new chair Hampton egg, horticulture and cattle producer Rachel Nicoll.

Mr Murray said they were able to come up with a direction as to what they would like to see happen in the next 12 months and what they would like to work on.

Ms Nicoll said their key actions will be centered on developing the young farmers of the future.

"Young farmers have to be learning as much outside of the industry as they are in it. They need to be getting exposure and experience, doing internships and building relationships with people," she said.

Mr Murray said he was looking forward to his new role and a good year ahead.

At the Young Farmer AGM, the Council thanked outgoing chair Tim Carroll, for his work for young farmers over the last four years.

Under Tim's leadership, NSW Young Farmers grew its membership, secured ongoing funding of the Young Farmer Business Program and successfully lobbied for low-interest loans for first-time farmers from the Government.

The Council comprises Rachel Nicoll, Martin Murray, Tim Carroll (Cudal), Meg Rice (Canberra), Tom Matthews (Grenfell), Brendan Murray (Coleambally), Hannah Cargill (Armidale), and Nathan Hatty (Matong).