Australian domestic travel restrictions | September 5

Where can I go? State-by-state border restrictions

As Australia grapples with COVID-19 restrictions on our state borders, particularly in Victoria, we tell you where you can go. Border controls for visitors can change quickly - so check before you book. Here's a state-by-state guide for travellers.


The ACT Government has closed its borders to travellers from Victoria. There are no restrictions for travellers from other states.


The border with Victoria has been temporarily shut to curtail the spread of coronavirus. There are no other restrictions on crossing the NSW border from other states, but travellers will need to comply with the rules of their home state when they return.

NSW residents can holiday anywhere in the state but are advised against travelling to NSW Health declared hotspots. Regional areas are welcoming visitors but travellers should book their accommodation in advance and call attractions to make sure they are open before travelling. Caravan parks and camping grounds are open, as are museums and galleries.

While pubs, clubs, cafes and restaurants are open, the rule of one person per four square metres applies and group bookings are limited to 10 people.


The Northern Territory's borders are open but all visitors must complete a Border Entry Application prior to arrival. Travellers coming from or through a declared COVID-19 hotspot will have to quarantine for 14 days at a government facility at their own expense ($2500 per person). Current hotspots include Greater Sydney and all of Victoria.


The Queensland border is currently closed to interstate travellers from Victoria, NSW and the ACT. Holidaymakers from other Australian states or territories must apply for a Border Declaration Pass prior to entry to Queensland and commit to take a COVID-19 test if they develop symptoms.

Tourism experiences can operate for up to 50 people but must social distance. Restaurants, hotels and resorts are open with social distancing rules.


South Australia continues to ban visitors from Victoria. Travellers from NSW and the ACT must self-quarantine for 14 days, submit for COVID-19 testing and complete a Cross Border Travel Registration. Visitors from other states may enter without any restrictions.


Tasmania is currently closed to interstate visitors and the government has said that there will be no changes to current restrictions prior to December 1.


Travel to Victoria is not advised at this time. Stage 4 restrictions are in place across metropolitan Melbourne, and the rest of Victoria is in Stage 3 restrictions, so regional travel is still off the table. Face masks are compulsory throughout the state when outside home.


Borders to WA remain closed. There is no indicative date for changes to the hard border closure at this time.

While you're here... might also enjoy